Book Review: The Struggle (The Vampire Diaries #2) by L.J.Smith

Synopsis

This is the terrifying story of two vampire brothers and the beautiful girl torn between them: Damon: determined to make Elena his queen of darkness, he’d kill his own brother to possess her.Stefan: desperate for the power to destroy Damon, he succumbs to his thirst for human blood.Elena: irresistibly drawn to both brothers, her choice will decide their fate.

Review

The Struggle is the second book of The Vampire Diaries Series. I picked this book because of two reasons: First, I had promised myself that I won’t give up on the series after reading just one book (It’s a part of my Reading Challenge 2015 too) and second, the TV show kind of tempted me to read the books, though I have watched only 1 Season of TVD.

So the story starts exactly from the point where it ends in the first book. In the second book, Elena is distressed because Stefan is missing and Damon is the antagonist who wants to kill his brother and wants to posses Elena. Forget the image of Damon you have made up in your mind by watching the TV show because Damon is very different in the book. He’s not that charming and sexy Ian Somerhalder. In fact, the books are very different from the show. In this book, the writer focuses more on Delena rather than Stelena. Second book is more about Elena’s conflicting feelings. She is sure about her feelings for Stefan but Damon makes her doubt everything. She isn’t sure what she feels about Damon. Is he really that bad? Or that’s just a facade? Does she hate him? Is she developing feelings for him? What about Stefan?

I had to read this book because I couldn’t leave the series without completing it but between the pages, I did feel sleepy. I think that I’d rather watch the show because it’s more interesting than the book. I can’t judge the series as yet, since I haven’t completed it. Making a decision to either continue the series or to leave it is as confusing as Elena’s feelings for Damon. I can’t help it. I don’t know about Elena if she has other fishes in the sea or not but I do have some better books to read so I think that I won’t be picking the third book for a very long time now.

Rating

2

I’m giving this book two stars because it was neither good nor bad.

Leave a Reply

