2015 Reading Challenge

‘Avid Reader’ is a person who is a very keen reader and is usually engrossed in books. After all, books work as an escape from boring life. So, these ‘avid readers’ obviously read a lot. A ‘Bibliophile’ is a person who collects or has a great love for books.

What describes me is the word ‘Bibliophile’. I am definitely not an avid reader as my schedule is pretty hectic. Although, I spend most of my time in the world of books since I’m a student of English Literature. I do research on many things related to literature for my assignments and test. I do read. But I don’t think I read enough. I am not avid reader but a bibliophile. I love to collect books. I have so many books that I haven’t read. I get excited when I get to know about some new good book (since every book offers knowledge) I buy them to possess them and then, they just sit on my book shelf. That’s not fair, right?  But, nothing is more important and interesting than an unread library.

10004365_1506123709655063_1940216704_n

I feel bad but then, I have so much to study ABOUT literature for college work. I have to read so many critical essays, so many dramas, poems and novels that I don’t do justice to the books I WANT to read. My college books are the books that I HAVE to read. (Oh! I don’t like the sound of it. It sounds like a compulsion.) When I think about reading MY BOOKS, I’m so confused that I don’t know what to begin with to finish my TBR list.

“I resolute to become an avid reader, this year. “

“I resolute to read 50 books.”

So, on New Year, I saw every avid reader on the internet taking this book challenge thing. There were so many reading challenges but I decided to make my own, taking a bit of an idea from every reading challenge that Google presented to me. I plan to read 50 books this year but I have made a list of 25 books here since I have to read my college books and review requests’ books also, so I saved the other part for those books. Here is my list:

s

  1. A book with more than 500 pages: Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie 
  2. A classic romance: Wuthering Heights by Emile Bronte (because I’m already done with’ Pride and Prejudice’ and ‘Jane Eyre’)
  3. A book published this year: –  (I gotta wait for this one)
  4. A funny book: How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran
  5. A book by a female author: Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman
  6. A mystery or thriller: The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown 
  7. A non-fiction book: 21 Ways of Being Happy by Shama Patel
  8. A popular author’s first book: Cover her Face by P.D.James
  9. A book from an author I love that I haven’t read yet: Adultery by Paulo Coelho
  10. A Pulitzer Prize Winning book: The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
  11. A book I can finish in a day: Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad (Done)
  12. A trilogy: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  13. A book by an author I have never read before: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  14. A book I own but have never read: The Great Gatsby by F.Scott Fitzgerald
  15. A book I started but never finished: Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami
  16. A book with a  great cover: The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan (Done)
  17. A non fiction history book: The Six Wives of Henry Vlll by Alison Weir
  18. A Jane Austen book: Persuasion
  19. A Stephen King book: Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption
  20. A book on a true story: The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
  21. A book with a yellow cover: Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez 
  22. A One word title book: Emma by Jane Austen
  23. A book series: Harry Potter by J.K.Rowling
  24. The second book in a series: The Struggle (The Vampire Diaries) by L.J.Smith
  25. A book by a famous Indian writer: The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy 

“This is my Reading Challenge. What is yours? “

Phew! I took an hour to make this list and to choose the books. Oh! Boy, looks like I will be reading many good books this year and I’ll be spending a GOOD AMOUNT of my hard earned money on the books too. Out of 24, I have only 11 books from this list and I’m not counting the seven books of Harry Potter series. I should say good bye to the thought of buying a new pair of boots. Suddenly, the idea of 30 Day Squat Challenge sounds better to me. JK. 😛  (That’s, anyway, too easy for me)

Thank God! I’m renovating my room this summer. I’m gonna get a new bookshelf of my choice. Finally. 🙂

Also, tell me if you have taken a reading challenge too.

3 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenge

  1. Hi Nancy,

    Great list : i like the way you have arranged the ‘to be read’ books in various ,interesting categories.
    I am not an avid reader but i can confidently say that i read few pages everyday.
    I shall start blogging again this year and want to read a lot more.

    Happy reading and blogging.

    • Thanks! Well, you can find many categories like these on Google to create a list of your own. The reading challenge is a fantastic concept.You should try it.

      Happy reading and blogging. 🙂

  2. Pingback: My TBR Book Jar | The Quintessential Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

