Guest Post: What’s it like to write about a writer?

Best Seller Kindle cover

It was fun! I jumped right into the character of Robin Fortune. As a teenager, I had dreams of becoming a writer, too, so some of the story originated with that truth. My mother would tell me how talented I was, how I could be a great writer. She was a tremendous supporter of my writing during my teenage years and even sent me to a creative writing summer class at the university one summer. She believed in me and helped me to believe in myself.

Then, when I was twenty years old, my father died unexpectedly from a massive heart attack. My mom was only fifty years old, and I was still in college. Life changed completely with his passing, and there was no more talk about becoming a writer. I had to finish college and start working. I took a job, and then another, and another – jobs that paid well, jobs I performed well, but I had little creative energy left at the end of day for writing. So I set it aside until three years ago, when I began writing full time. And it was as if a dam had burst – I’ve written five books in two years, and these stories inside me are clamoring to get out!

In Best Seller, though, I write about the writing industry in the 1970s, which was so totally different than what it is today! It was still difficult to get published, and the process was archaic. But I loved getting into the sense of publishing the way it used to be. And as much as I had hopes of being a published author in the early 1980s, I am thrilled to have the opportunities afforded by the publishing industry today.

About the book

Set in New England at the time of the American Bicentennial, BEST SELLER is the poignant story of a displaced young woman struggling to figure out who she is within the context of her hometown and the carefully masked dysfunction of her family.

“Everything can be fixed by writing a check.” Words to live by for Robin Fortune’s wealthy father, until he can’t buy her way back into college after she’s expelled for dealing pot. Now he chooses not to speak to her anymore, but that’s just one of the out-of-whack situations Robin’s facing. At nineteen, she feels rudderless, working in a diner by day and sleeping with a buddy from high school by night – all so strange for her because she was always the one with the plan. While her college friends plotted how to ensnare husbands, she plotted a novel, which she scratched out into a series of spiral-bound notebooks she hides in the closet. But now, there’s nothing. No vision, no future, no point. In fact, the only thing she feels she has to look forward to is that her favorite author, Maryana Capture, is paying a visit to the local Thousand Words bookstore. Robin surmises that if she can convince Maryana to help her get her novel published, she’ll finally get herself back on track. Except that life never takes a straight path in this intensely satisfying coming-of-age novel.

About the author Martha 2nd

Martha Reynolds ended an accomplished career as a fraud investigator and began writing full time in 2011. She is the author of five novels, including the award-winning Chocolate for Breakfast (her debut novel), Chocolate Fondue, Bittersweet Chocolate, and the Amazon #1 bestseller Bits of Broken Glass. Best Seller is her latest release. Her essays have appeared in Magnificat magazine.

She and her husband live in Rhode Island, never far from the ocean.

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads | Pinterest

Leave a Reply

