Book Bucket Challenge- My List of Top 10 Books

 

So, I was nominated by a friend of mine for a Book Bucket Challenge where I had to list my top 10 books. First of all, picking just 10 wasn’t easy as in these three years of studying English Literature I have read many great book. Sadly, they all can’t be listed here. Secondly, I know that in future I’ll read some more good books but till then these 10 are my favorite. So from the list of book I have read, I picked my Top 10. 

 

10616571_1524681491100626_1533446552700046153_n (1)

 

 

 1. Dear John by Nicholas Sparks

This book will always remain close to my heart as I started reading novels from this book and look where I have reached now, I have a book review blog. This is the only romantic novel that I dearly love as the story is so touching and down to earth and there is nothing filmy about it. I don’t usually read romantic novels. It’s a beautiful love story.

(See the review here)

 

2. Eleven Minutes by Paulo Coelho

So Paulo Coelho shows you the life of Maria who is searching for true love but rather ends up as a prostitute. This is a book that talks about sex, BDSM and still isn’t dirty. He shows you the spiritual side of sex. The story is bold and it changes your perception of sex.

(See the review here)

 

3. The Shadow Lines by Amitav Gosh

This book will always remain my favorite, The Shadow Lines is a story about two families- one English and other Indian and shows you how the private lives of people are affected by the political events like Partition of Bengal. 

Thamma has this yearning to go back to her homeland, Bangladesh, after the Partition. This book is close to my heart as I can relate to it since I have led a life of a gypsy, moving from one place to another but only one place stays in my heart (Gurgaon) since that’s the place where I spent my childhood days. So What Bangladesh is to Thamma, Gurgaon is to me. There is always a yearning to back and live there.

 

4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

So, The Hunger Games isn’t the kind of book that would usually list in people’s top 10 books’ list. But this is the first novel of YA genre that I have read and I loved the idea of a reality show of life and death, where you have to win if you want to stay alive and that also means killing your opponents, even your friends.

(See the review here)

 

5. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

Before studying Popular Fiction, I used to think why people enjoy Crime Thrillers so much and then I read this masterpiece by Agatha Christie. It’s not like a normal crime thriller, the end actually astonishes you. Also, Now I know that my favorite genre is Crime Fiction. Agatha Christie inspired me to write my own book and obviously the genre is crime fiction. 

(See the review here)

 

6. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I came across this novel in my first semester of Graduation and I loved it. I loved the characters. Set in 18th century, it’s a witty story of two individuals who at first hated each other, the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet, and how they ended up marrying each other. 

“I am determined that only the deepest love will induce me into matrimony. So, I shall end an old maid, and teach your ten children to embroider cushions and play their instruments very ill.”

 

 

7. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Okay so I didn’t just read this novel but I studied it. I read between the lines. It’s a story of an orphan, Jane,and her passionate search for a wider and richer life than Victorian society traditionally allowed. I like the protagonist. She is strong and independent. She is, in my opinion, a fighter. 

“I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will.”

 

 

8. The Wife of Bath by Geoffrey Chaucer

Now, what to say about this Wife? Set in 14th century, it describes the views of Alison about marriage. She is a wife of five husbands. She has married five men in her one life and she justifies why she is right. She did no wrong. It’s worth reading. A bold concept. A strong female protagonist. 

“Forbid Us Something and That Thing we Desire”

 

9. Paradise Lost by John Milton

Paradise Lost is an epic poem about the Fall of Man. Milton describes the story of Adam and Eve and why Eve thought that she needed to eat the fruit. A story about Satan and his side of the story. It’s about the Tree of Knowledge. What is knowledge after all? Why should god not provide us with knowledge? How will we differentiate between good and bad if we didn’t have knowledge? 

Again, a worth reading book.

“Knowledge forbidden?
Suspicious, reasonless. Why should their Lord
Envy them that?Can it be a sin to know?
Can it be death?

 

10. Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett 

We don’t know what Godot is or who Godot is. We just know that Estragon and Vladimir are waiting for him. Why? That too, we don’t know. But the question is –  Will he come? Will Estragon and Vladimir wait for him forever?

So, the story is not about two tramps waiting for Godot. It’s about life. Godot? Godot is no one. So stop questioning because in a way, we all are waiting for Godot. We all are waiting…waiting..and waiting… 

(Not a book that everyone can understand)

“Estragon: Didi, let’s go.

Vladimir: No. We can’t.

Estragon: But why not?

Vladimir: Because we are waiting for Godot.”

 

Phew…..was really a good task.

2 thoughts on “Book Bucket Challenge- My List of Top 10 Books

    • Well, every person has a different taste. But I’m still wondering why any book from the list wouldn’t list in your top 10 as some of them are the best of English literature that they are taught in universities.

Leave a Reply

