The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins Book Review

 IMAG0535 Title: The Hunger Games (Book One of the Series)

Series: The Hunger Games Trilogy

Author: Suzanne Collins

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia, Fantasy, Adventure

No. of Pages: 374

Storyline: The nation of Panem, formed from a post-apocalyptic North America, is a country that consists of a wealthy Capitol region surrounded by 12 poorer districts. Early in its history, a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and the creation of an annual televised event known as the Hunger Games. In punishment, and as a reminder of the power and grace of the Capitol, each district must yield one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 through a lottery system to participate in the games. The ‘tributes’ are chosen during the annual Reaping and are forced to fight to the death, leaving only one survivor to claim victory. (This is the story of Panem as written on Goodreads)

Sixteen years old Katniss takes place of her younger sister as a volunteer for the games. Other boy from District 12 is Peeta Mellark. They both participate in the 74th Hunger Games, which is a reality show for Panem. In the game, they will be left out in a forest where they won’t get water, shelter or food. They will have to compete with other tributes of 11 Districts.

One thing about Hunger Games is that losing means death. So if one has to live, one has to win the games and kill others. And there can be only one winner. Will Katniss be the winner? Will Peeta win? Will they be able to kill others? Or each other? Will they survive the games?

Thoughts: I had heard a lot about this series and book nerds on Instagram couldn’t stop praising it. So I had to read it. I had watched the movie already though. But reading THE BOOK is necessary for book nerds like me. So I ordered it and started reading. And I couldn’t put it down.

I am actually amazed by the author’s idea. Taking the base of a reality show and combining it with an adventurous and thrilling idea of a game, a game of life and death. If you have to live, then win the games. If you want to win the games, then you have to kill others, even your friends. Can you become this cruel person?

Welcome to The Hunger Games. Stay Alive. Rely on hope because ‘Hope is the only thing stronger than fear’. Brilliant. No wonder that this trilogy is a bestseller.

Regarding Katniss and Peeta’s relationship, if you have watched the movie and have not read the book, then it’s obvious that you never quite understood their relationship. Movie fails to show their relationship like the book. Katniss and Peeta’s relationship started with confusions and trust issues which is natural as they are not friends but competitors. During the games, we see them bonding with each other. Katniss is a kind of girl who keeps her emotions bottled up inside. She doesn’t like to be vulnerable. You will love her character as she is strong and courageous. Katniss starts falling for Peeta unconsciously. She cares about him. She wants him to stay alive. She is ready to die if he is to be killed by her. But moving towards the end in the novel, their relationship comes back to its starting point- back to its confusions where they have to fake feelings for each other for the sake of the audience.

Who should read it? Anyone can read this book as this genre and this story can be enjoyed by everyone. You don’t have to be an intellectual to understand the story. It’s simple and adventurous.

See the 5 Best Quotes from this novel in the ‘Quotastic Tuesday’ bookish meme, here

Ratings

4 I give this book 4 star as I really enjoyed it and I will be reading the other books of this series too. Also, it deserves 4 star for the brilliant plot.

9 thoughts on “The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins Book Review

  1. Hi,

    I’m glad you enjoyed the Hunger Games and I liked reading your review. I read the trilogy a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it, although I think the first book is definitely the best of the three. The premise behind the plot is not entirely unique as Stephen King (writing under the pseudonym Richard Bachman) wrote a similar story called The Running Man (later made into a movie starring Arnold Schwarzenegger) in the 1980’s. However, I think Collins uses the premise to great effect here.

    • I’m glad you liked the review. Actually, The Hunger Games is the first novel of YA genre that I’m reading and it’s really good so i liked it. Otherwise, I never knew about The Running Man. I’ll google about it. Regarding hunger games trilogy, i’m actually excited for the other books in the series.

  2. I haven’t read the books yet because I lot of people tell me Mockingjay is very disappointing. I don’t really want it to be like Divergent, where at first I was head over heels in love with the series, but after Allegiant, it got knocked off of my favourites list. Do you recommend that I still read it? Great blog by the way!

    • I have read only the Book one of the series. Can’t say anything? I, too, am excited to reach the end of the series but college keeps me busy. Also Divergent series is still on my TBR list. I suggest you wait and let me read it first….will post the review then….and will save you from disappointment if there will b a sad ending. 🙂 Thank you for the compliment. I’m glad you liked my blog.

      • I have been hearing a lot about this series and I’m just waiting for the holidays to come. Will definitely read it. About the book one of The Hunger Games series, I think you’ll like it too.

      • Be sure to review it once you read the series! Id love to hear your thoughts. By the way, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award! Visit my blog for the details 🙂

  3. Pingback: Book Bucket Challenge- My List of Top 10 Books | The Quintessential Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

